My Ramdam

Media Technology Marketing.
Every week, a recap of the latest news in media,
new technology and marketing.

05
Sep

My Ramdam by My Media # 275

week 31 – 2016

Television

THE NEW REALITY DOC ON M6: IN POOR TASTE?
On Wednesday, August 17th, M6 will be airing the two first episodes of its new program, eloquently titled: « La Rue des allocs », adapted from the British program Benefits Street. Much like the program aired from 2004 in the UK on Channel 4, the reality doc will follow the daily lives of the neighborhood of Saint Leu in Amiens. Their specificity that warrants such attention? They all live with less than 1 000€ a month, having to pile up debt and work several menial jobs with ungodly hours to survive. The original British program met with resounding success with up to 6.5 million viewers per episode. It was also very controversial as it aired just when British MPs were debating a reform of the British social system. To be continued.

THE (FORMER) HOST OF THE GRAND JOURNAL IN CANAL+’ CROSSHAIRS
The split with Maïtena Biraben does not seem amicable after the host left the program this June after just one season as she picked up hosting duties at the last minute last summer. Her quick arrival had granted her a new contract as she had joined the premium channel in June. Her contract notably planned for substantial compensation if she was fired, a compensation the channel is now refusing her, claiming she was fired for “serious offence” in her work. . Click here to find out more.

Web & mobile

POKEMON ALERT! A HISTORIC SHOCK FOR THE GAMING WORLD!
Have your loved ones been walking around zig-zagging for the past few days? Their eyes stuck on their phones? No they don’t have balance problems or eyesight issues, they’re just hunting for Pokemon. To understand the craze around this app,  click here before reading the rest of the article.

Officially launched in France on July 24th (a bit after other countries), the app has completely overtaken Candy Crush, which had been the undisputed casual game leader for the past few years. Even more notably, this Pokemon madness is a boon for Drive-to-store: with several operations from Monoprix,  Boulanger, Franprix, Leclerc, But. Now go back to the link from above. Did you see the difference? Do you get it now? Even the French police thought it was necessary to remind people of some elementary safety rules!

NEWS DROPS WHEN FUN INCREASES: WE COMPENSATE TOUGH NEWS WITH VIRTUAL ENTERTAINMENT?
That is the main result of the latest survey of online video (desktop) by Médiamétrie for the month of June: 21% of web users 2 and up watched an entertainment video, especially 25-34 yo (1.3 million) and ABC1 (2.6 million). As for websites, Snapchat gained 3 million unique visitors, surpassing Orange, while news websites are going down (Le Figaro 30th website and Le Monde 23rd). Overall, 56% of French people watched at least one video online, favoring shorter formats (2min16). For the full results, click here.

Advertising

SOUS LE SIGNE DE POKEMON
The news continues to be alarming in France and abroad, with war still rampant. Among all the creations surrounding the launch of Pokemon Go, this one got our attention: the grail isn’t a fire or water Pokemon, but simply a house to live in or a book in a school. This idea for an outdoor campaign was imagined by Syrian designer Saif Aldeen Tahhan.

MELTING POT ON THE MENU OF THE GOOGLE TRANSLATE POP’UP RESTAURANT IN NYC
Are you going on vacation or just getting back from it? You are or certainly will be very thankful for Google Translate which helps you understand your restaurant menu abroad! The app launched a temporary restaurant in New York where, for 5 days, 18 chefs from all backgrounds and origins cooked multi-cultural menus. What a fun way to celebrate the famous “melting pot” at the heart of American mythology. As the menus kept the language of the dishes, customers had to use Google Translate to understand the menu! Click here to discover #EveryoneSpeaksFood.

My Ramdam

Media Technologie Marketing
Chaque semaine, un concentré d’actualités portant sur la santé des medias, les nouvelles technologies et le marketing.

05
Sep

My Ramdam by My Media # 275

semaine 31 – 2016

Télévision

LE NOUVEAU DOCU-REALITE SUR M6 : UNE FAUTE DE BON GOUT ?
M6 diffusera le mercredi 17 août les deux premiers épisodes de son nouveau programme, au nom éloquent : « La Rue des allocs ». Reprenant un concept initié par Channel 4 au UK dès 2004, (Benefits Street), on suivra la vie de certains habitants du quartier de Saint-Leu à Amiens. Leur particularité pour mériter cette curiosité ? Vivre avec moins de 1 000€ par mois, ou comment s’endetter pour vivre au quotidien, enchaîner des petits boulots aux horaires improbables. Reste que le programme britannique avait rencontré un franc succès Outre-Manche : jusqu’à 6.5 millions de téléspectateurs. Et qu’il avait également suscité le débat alors que les parlementaires britanniques planchaient à la réforme du système social anglais. Affaire à suivre.

L(’EX) FIGURE DU GRAND JOURNAL SOUS LES FOUDRES DE CANAL +
Divorce sous tension pour Maïtena Biraben, qui a quitté la présentation du Grand Journal en juin dernier, après en avoir repris la tête au pied levé l’été dernier. Une passation très rapide, qui avait donné lieu à la signature d’un nouveau contrat pour la présentatrice présente depuis 2008 sur la chaîne cryptée. Un contrat prévoyant notamment le paiement d’indemnités importantes en cas de licenciement : ce que refuse aujourd’hui de payer la chaîne, préférant rechercher une « faute grave » dans le travail de Maïtena Biraben. Pour en savoir plus, cliquer ici.

Web & mobile

ALERTE POKEMON ! UN CHOC HISTORIQUE POUR L’UNIVERS DU GAMING !
Vos proches se déplacent en zigzag depuis quelques jours ? L’œil rivé sur leur Smartphone, ils ne souffrent pas d’un problème d’équilibre ou de vue, non, ils chassent le Pokémon. Pour comprendre la folie de cette appli, cliquer ici avant de lire la suite de l’article.
Téléchargeable en France depuis le 24 juillet (début juillet pour les autres pays conquis), l’application a complètement dépassé CandyCrush, pourtant indétrônable depuis bien des années. Mais surtout, cette chasse aux Pokémon est une véritable manne pour le Drive-to-Store : avec une multitude d’opérations organisées (Monoprix, Boulanger, Franprix, Leclerc, But…). Maintenant, revenez sur la page ouverte ci-dessus. Et vous comprendrez ! Même la gendarmerie rappelle des consignes de sécurité !

ACTUALITE EN BAISSE QUAND LE FUN AUGMENTE : ON PALLIE PAR LE VIRTUEL AUX DURES NOUVELLES ?
C’est le principal résultat de la dernière mesure de la vidéo en ligne (desktop) par Médiamétrie pour le mois de juin dernier : 21% des internautes de 2 ans et plus ont regardé une vidéo de divertissement, et notamment les 25-34 ans (1.3 million) ou les CSP + (2.6 millions). Du côté des sites, Snapchat gagne 3 millions de visiteurs uniques, devançant Orange, quand les sites d’information sont plutôt à la baisse (Le Figaro 30ème site et Le Monde 23ème). Au global, 56% des Français auront regardé une vidéo en ligne, privilégiant les formats courts (2min16). Pour retrouver l’ensemble des résultats, cliquer ici.

Publicité

SOUS LE SIGNE DE POKEMON
Une actualité bien sombre en France et en-dehors de l’Hexagone, les bombes continuent de pleuvoir. Parmi toutes les créations autours du lancement de Pokémon Go, celle-ci retient notre attention : le graal n’est plus un Pokémon eau ou forêt, mais simplement une maison avec un toit ou un livre dans une école. Une campagne d’affichage imaginée par le designer syrien Saif Aldeen Tahhan.

MELTING POT AU MENU DU GOOGLE TRANSLATE POP’UP RESTAURANT NEWORKAIS
Les vacances approchent ou vous en revenez ? Vous avez ou aurez certainement une pleine reconnaissance pour Google Translate qui vous évitera de commander un plat ou un morceau de viande obscur ! L’application a lancé un restaurant éphémère où, pendant cinq jours, 18 chefs de tous horizons ont concocté des menus multiculturels. Une façon joyeuse de célébrer le fameux « melting pot » cher à la nation américaine. Les menus respectant la langue de leurs plats, incitant les clients à utiliser Google Translate ! Cliquer ici pour découvrir #EveryoneSpeaksFood.