My Ramdam

Media Technology Marketing.
Every week, a recap of the latest news in media,
new technology and marketing.

05
Sep

My Ramdam by My Media # 276

week 32 – 2016

Television

OPENING CEREMONY OF THE RIO OLYMPIC GAMES
The 31st Olympiads opened at the legendary Maracaña stadium in Rio de Janeiro. The ceremony, broadcast on France 2, was watched by 1,6 million viewers (26% share) in France, much lower than the 8,7 million who had watched the London 2012 opening ceremony, also due to a much later broadcast for the Rio ceremony due to the time difference. Let’s forget a bit the controversies surrounding the Olympic village, the Brazilian presidency or the Russian delegation! France Télévisions, which acquired the broadcast rights (alongside Canal+) has gone all in to cover the event with prestigious commentators like Laure Manaudou, director Elie Chouraqui, ex-football star for PSG Raï or athlete Stéphane Diagana, united to cover these 1st Olympic Games in South America. For more details on France Télévisions’ coverage, click here.

DISNEY ON FRANCE TV IN THE FALL
France Télévisions will be able to broadcast programs from the famous American studio from September 2016 to September 2019. As soon as September 3rd, France 5 will air “Doc McStuffins” or the “Mickey Mouse Clubhouse” (already aired on M6). Brand new exclusives like “The Lion Guard”, a spin-off of “The Lion King” will be coming shortly as well. Click here to find out more.

Digital & Business

LIKE SNAPCHAT, INSTAGRAM LAUNCHES ITS STORIES…
The photo sharing app Instagram (owned by Facebook) has recently introduced a new feature with its “stories.” Does the name ring a bell? Of course, as it is a copy of Snapchat, the other visual media sharing app which remains hugely popular among the younger  generations. As a reminder, the “story” allows users to publish photos or videos temporarily as a sequence. Recently it has become a new vector for advertising on Snapchat. Will Instagram follow the same path? Which network will win the story battle? Click here to find out more.

CLOSED FOR BUSINESS: GOING BACK ON THE END OF DE TAKE EAT EASY
The Belgian Uber of food delivery has shut its doors. It all ended on Juy 26th. While the sector seems to be in a boom phase, what happened to the company? The simple answer is that there was intense competition to dominate different cities between Take Eat Easy and its competitors, the German Foodora and the English Deliveroo. This war for market share was won betting on growth over profitability, a war Take Eat Easy lost as its investors left the table… For more on the model of these start-ups, click here.

Advertising

THE CITY INSPIRED BY THE OLYMPICS IN RIO
When scaffolding becomes art: to celebrate the sporting event, artist JR imagined athletes over buildings with metal structures and veils. See the great installations below!

H&M AND THE OLYMPICS (AND THE KARDASHIAN) WITH CAITLYN JENNER
The Swedish fashion brand has launched it sports line. To incarnate the collection, H&M chose Caitlyn Jenner, a fascinating athlete who won the gold medal in the decathlon 40 years ago at the 1976 Montreal Olympics. Back then she was still a man (William Bruce Jenner) beat the world record in the event 3 times, before becoming a woman named « Caitlyn » after going through a sex change last year. The sports collection is simple and efficient, showcased in a very pretty spot featuring other extraordinary athletes, such as Chelsea Werner, a gymnast with Down Syndrome. Click here to find out more on the collection. And click here to watch the H&M For Every Victory spot.

My Ramdam

Media Technologie Marketing
Chaque semaine, un concentré d’actualités portant sur la santé des medias, les nouvelles technologies et le marketing.

05
Sep

My Ramdam by My Media # 276

semaine 32 – 2016

Télévision

OUVERTURE DES JO DE RIO : FETONS-MIEUX QUE POUR L’EURO ?
Coup d’envoi des 31ème Olympiades au stade Maracaña de Rio de Janeiro devant 1.6 millions de téléspectateurs (26% de PDA pour France 2) en France.  Oublions un peu les polémiques sur le village olympique, la présidence de la République brésilienne ou la délégation russe ! France Télévisions, qui a acquis les droits de retransmission (avec Canal+) sort les grands moyens pour couvrir l’évènement. Laure Manaudou, le réalisateur Elie Chouraqui, l’ex-joueur du PSG Raï ou encore Stéphane Diagana, une pléiade de commentateurs sont réunis pour ces 1ers JO en Amérique du Sud. Pour plus de détails sur le dispositif prévu par France Télévisions, cliquer ici.

DISNEY A LA RENTREE SUR FRANCE TV
De septembre 2016 à septembre 2019, France Télévisions pourra remplir ses programmes de dessins animés avec les séries de la célèbre firme américaine. Dès le 3 septembre, il y aura sur France 5 « Docteur la Peluche » ou « La Maison de Mickey » (déjà diffusées sur M6). Des inédits arriveront vite, comme « La garde du Roi Lion », dérivé du célèbre Roi Lion sorti il y a vingt-deux ans. Cliquer ici pour en savoir plus.

Digital & Business

A L’IMAGE DE SNAPCHAT : INSTAGRAM LANCE SES STORIES …
Appli de partage de photographies, Instagram (propriété de Facebook) propose depuis peu une nouvelle fonctionnalité : les « stories ». Tiens tiens, le nom vous dit quelque chose ? Hé oui, il s’agit d’une copie conforme de Snapchat, l’autre application de partage de visuels, ultra-populaire auprès des jeunes. Pour rappel, la « story » permet de publier des photos ou des vidéos visibles de façon éphémère… Et depuis peu, c’est un nouveau vecteur de publicités pour Snapchat. Instagram fera-t-il la même chose ? Et quel réseau remportera la bataille des stories ?   Cliquer ici pour en savoir plus.

RETRO-PEDALAGE DANS LA SEMOULE : RETOUR SUR LE CLAP DE FIN DE TAKE EAT EASY
Le Uber belge de la livraison de plats de restaurant a mis clé sous porte. Depuis le 26 juillet, c’est fini. Alors que ce secteur semble en plein boom, que s’est-il passé ? La réponse : une lutte serrée pour atteindre l’hégémonie sur les villes entre Take Eat Easy et son concurrent allemand (Foodora) et anglais (Deliveroo). Une guerre pour l’expansion gagnée à coup de croissance au mépris de la rentabilité des modèles, jusqu’à retrait des investisseurs des paris. Et pour Take Eat Easy, ils sont partis… Pour revenir plus longuement sur le modèle de ses start-up, cliquer ici.

Publicité

LA VILLE SOUS LE SIGNE DES JO A RIO DE JANEIRO
Quand les échafaudages se font œuvre d’art : pour célébrer la rencontre sportive, l’artiste JR a imaginé ses athlètes surplombant les immeubles de leur structure de métal et de voiles. Voici en image ses réalisations très réussies !

H&M SOUS LE SIGNE DES JO (ET DES KARDASHIAN) AVEC CAITLYN JENNER
C’est parti pour la ligne sport de la marque suédoise. Et comme égérie de la collection, H&M a choisi Caitlyn Jenner, une athlète hors norme, qui remporta la médaille d’or du décathlon il y a 40 ans lors des JO de Montréal en 1976. Elle, ou il a l’époque (William Bruce Jenner) repoussa à 3 reprise le record mondial dans la discipline ; l’athlète vient  juste de devenir « Caitlyn » en changeant de sexe l’an passé. Une collection sobre et efficace, présentée dans un très joli film publicitaire mettant en scène d’autres athlètes hors du commun, comme Chelsea Werner, gymnaste trisomique. Pour en savoir plus, cliquer ici. Et cliquer ici ou sur la photo pour voir le clip H&M For Every Victory.